Boating Laws
USBoatLaw.com
Boating Law and Boaters Education

 

USBoatLaw.com 

  TOOLS:..   Search USBoatLaw.com | State Boat Laws | .

FIND:..   Marinas  Boaters Education |  Boating Books   Insurance  |   Lawyers - Boating  |  

See USBoatLaw.com @ the NEW YORK BOAT SHOW- Jan 19-23 - click for details Atlantic City Feb 2-6

Boat Laws

USBoatLaw.com  - The Boating Laws and Safety Guides

North Carolina BOAT LAWS

   

North Carolina Boat Laws are administered by the North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission. Also The Division of Engineering Services oversees Boating Access in North Carolina. 

Basic North Carolina Boating Laws

 
North Carolina Boating License Requirements

Those younger than 16 years of age may operate a boat powered by 15 horsepower or more (including PWCs) only if they are accompanied by an adult at least 18 years old who is not under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs or they have passed a boating safety course approved by the North Carolina Department of Natural Resources.

Jet Ski Rules - Personal Watercraft (PWC)

The N.C. General Statutes require that anyone between the age of 14 and 16 years of age complete a NASBLA approved Boating Education Course and carry a certification card and proof of age in order to operate a personal watercraft on the waters of this state.

A personal watercraft (PWC) is a small vessel which uses an outboard or propeller-driven motor, or an inboard motor powering a water jet pump as itís primary source of motive power and which is designed to be operated by a person sitting, standing, or kneeling on, or being towed behind the vessel, rather than in the conventional manner of sitting or standing inside the vessel. PWC's are commonly known by their manufacturer names such as, Jet-Ski's, Sea-Doo's and Wave-Runners.

An Approved Flotation Device (Life Jacket) must be worn at all times.

Boat Registration and Title Requirements

Renew online

Anyone who purchases or transfers a motorized vessel or sailboat 14 feet or longer or who owns a personal watercraft (jet ski), will be required to title the vessel.

It is illegal for the owner or person in control of a motorboat to allow someone who does not meet the age or boating education requirements to operate the vessel.   

North Carolina Boat Forms

- North Carolina's Boating Checklist - free form
- Forms and Applications from NC Commission.

North Carolina Boat Insurance

 

USBoatLaw.com Boaters Education and Boat Safety

 

USBoatLaw.com